Britain travel ban: Nations stop all flights after UK’s Covid mutation – FULL LIST

Keir Starmer: New COVID-19 variant was 'spotted in September'

The new strain of coronavirus is spreading fast throughout the south of England and London – but while the variant is not thought to be more deadly, it is known to be around 70 percent more infectious. While other countries have may not reported cases of the new variant, borders have been shut to British travellers preemptively. 

The new variant has been detected in Scotland and Wales, but has not been detected in Northern Ireland.

Several countries have now taken emergency measures to stop all traffic coming from the UK into other countries.

Among the countries which have implemented a ban include France, Ireland, Netherlands and Austria.

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights. What are the symptoms of the new strain of Covid? Are they different?

Which countries have banned UK travellers?










France has also banned accompanied freight – such as lorries – will not be allowed to enter France from midnight tonight in France.

Ireland has said there will be a 48-hour ban on flights arriving in Ireland from Britain, while ferries will continue to operate for freight.

The German embassy in London tweeted: “As of midnight tonight (Berlin time), all flights from the UK to Germany are prohibited due to the coronavirus mutation.”


Source: Read Full Article