Flights: These ‘safe’ UK airports could see Britons exempt from quarantine – full list

As countries around the world gear up to welcome back tourism in the coming months, many are implementing new safety regulations for travellers flying from certain airports. A list set out by the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) has listed airports around the world which are deemed “high risk”.


  • Jet2 flights: Jet2 reveals new later start date for flights

As a result, arrivals from airports where COVID-19 infection risk is considered more prominent could be subject to increased safety procedures, including a mandatory quarantine period in some countries.

Rules and regulations for passenger arrivals are specific to the destination country and are determined by governments and relevant authorities.

Greece, for example, has said Britons will be allowed to visit the country but will face varying levels of mandatory screening measures, including a 14-day quarantine period, based on the airport they arrive from.

Passengers arriving in Greece from airports on the EASA list will be tested for COVID-19 and could face seven days of quarantine if their results come back negative.

READ MORE: Who has to self-isolate, how long for – new travel rules revealed

Positive results would mean a 14 day quarantine period.

Random testing will be carried out on tourists arriving from UK airports which are not listed by EASA.

Travellers are also currently expected to quarantine for 14 days once they return back into the UK under new regulations laid out by the government.

While 13 UK airports made it onto the list, there were some that are considered by EASA to be safer to fly from.

Cabin crew reveal the secret meaning behind the in-flight noises [INSIDER]
Pound to euro exchange rate: GBP rangebound following COVID-19 crisis [GRAPH]
Travel expert warns quarantine may ‘increase number of COVID-19 cases’ [INTERVIEW]

The UK airports which were not listed by EASA are:

  • Aberdeen
  • Belfast International
  • Bournemouth
  • Bristol
  • Cardiff
  • City of Derry
  • Durham Tees Valley
  • Edinburgh Airport
  • Exeter International
  • George Best Belfast City
  • Glasgow Prestwick
  • Inverness
  • London Southend
  • Newquay Cornwall
  • Norwich International
  • Southampton


  • Martin Lewis says travel insurance could offer holiday refunds

Airports included in the list are there to “ensure an additional layer of protection for passengers and aircrew” according to EASA.

The travel body developed the list using information from the World Health Organisation, the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control and other health authorities.

Though some countries are using the list as guidance to inform travel restrictions, the EASA has said this is improper usage of the list.

EASA recommends “enhanced aircraft disinfection” for flights at these airports.

The UK airports which are included in the EASA list are:

  • Birmingham
  • Doncaster Sheffield
  • East Midlands
  • Gatwick
  • Glasgow
  • Heathrow
  • Leeds Bradford
  • Liverpool John Lennon
  • London City
  • Luton
  • Manchester Airport
  • Newcastle International
  • Stansted

Source: Read Full Article