Gibraltar holidays: Island added to Wales quarantine list but remains exempt for England

Gibraltar is a British Overseas Territory on Spain’s south coast. The island is a popular holiday hotspot with Britons who love the region’s heat, views and beaches. There has been heavy speculation in recent weeks as to whether the island would be removed from the travel corridor list.

Gibraltar’s case rate has remained relatively low, but its average case rate over a seven-day period has edged above England’s preferred threshold.

The island has recorded 305 cases and zero deaths.

CEO of travel consultancy, The PC Agency Paul Charles has been tweeting daily updates regarding countries’ coronavirus cases.

He said: “Fri update: The #UK ironically moves into the amber zone, based on its own criteria.

“Countries with strong airport testing – #Germany #Iceland #Italy #Greece – see their case numbers falling and remain green.

“#Portugal nudges up again.”

Gibraltar’s case rate per 100,000 people is currently at 68.2 cases over a seven-day period.

Visitors from Wales to Gibraltar will have to quarantine for two weeks when they return to the region.

Travel money: Currency expert’s advice when saving for your holiday [INSIGHT]
Travel insurance: What to look for in a policy now [UPDATE]
Hand luggage: Expert reveals safest way to fly with bags [ANALYSIS]

The new rules put in place by the Welsh Government were put in place yesterday morning.

It is the first time Wales has had different quarantine rules from England.

The new rules will apply to people returning to Wales regardless of whether they land in Cardiff or any other airport in the UK.

However, the new rules will not apply to those returning to England.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps announced on Thursday that there would not be any changes to England’s travel corridor list.

Mr Shapps tweeted: “We continue to keep the Travel Corridor list under constant review & won’t hesitate to remove countries if needed.

“However, there are no English additions or removals today.” [sic]

Gibraltar was not the only island to be added to Wales’ red list.

The following countries and islands will require those returning to Wales to self-isolate for 14 days: Portugal (the Azores and Madeira remain exempt), Gibraltar, French Polynesia, Mykonos, Zakynthos (Zante), Lesvos, Paros, Antiparos and Crete.

Health minister Vaughan Gething said the new quarantine rules come as “a large number of cases of coronavirus have been imported into Wales from tourists.”

He said: “This action is being taken as a result of a large number of cases of coronavirus have been imported into Wales from tourists returning from the Greek islands, in particular.

“In the last week, there have been more than 20 cases confirmed in passengers on one flight from Zante to Cardiff.”

Source: Read Full Article