Holidays 2020: These countries are banning Britons, but for how long? Full list

Countries across the world are emerging from lockdown and beginning to reopen their borders in a bid to stimulate their economies and welcome back tourism. However, while this might be good news for some, in many regions Britons are banned due to the nation’s coronavirus statistics.


  • Caravan & campsites reopen: Owners call for more safety guidance

Even in those countries where UK nationals are permitted, it doesn’t necessarily mean holidays get the go-ahead.

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) continues to advise against all nonessential travel, though it says this is constantly “under review”.

Meanwhile, Minister for Transport Grant Shapps struggled in Thursday’s coronavirus daily briefing to give a conclusive answer on when holidays-even just domestic-will be allowed.

Though Greece and Italy have said Britons are permitted to holiday again, other nations are less open.

The good news is that it seems all regions banning UK travellers are only planning on doing so on a temporary basis.

Once the UK gets a hold on the spread of the virus or a vaccine is found, it is likely Britons will once again be welcomed back.

Here is a full list of countries currently restricting Britons from entering:


Australia is currently only allowing Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members of the aforementioned to enter its borders.


Argentina’s borders are closed to all non-citizens or residents until June 7.


Colombia’s land and sea borders are now closed, as well as airports.

No international visitors may enter.


UK nationals are not permitted to enter the country for tourism.

From June 9 Cyprus plans to allow new tourist arrivals but from a limited number of countries.

The UK is not included in this “white list” until further notice.


UK nationals may not currently visit Denmark.

According to the FCO: “The Danish border is closed to foreign nationals who do not have a ‘worthy purpose’ for entering Denmark.

“Border checks are in place at all entry points. Tourists and those the Danish authorities say cannot demonstrate a ‘worthy purpose’ will not be allowed to cross the border.”

El Salvador

Foreign visitors, including Britons, are banned from visiting El Salvador.


India is currently not allowing British nationals to enter its borders or seek a visa.

All land borders with Bangladesh, Bhutan, Myanmar and Nepal in East and North East India.

The country will remain in a “phased lockdown” until June 30 according to the FCO.

Holidays 2020: ‘They cannot be hanging onto money!’, says Grant Shapps [COMMENT]
Holidays 2020: Quarantine rules could be axed by July [INSIGHT]
Italy holidays: FCO issues new updates for Britons [FCO UPDATE]


Any visitors who have left the UK or visited the UK in the 14 days prior to entry are not allowed to enter the Maldives.

An exception is made for Maldivian nationals and Britons who are residents of the country.

New Zealand

New Zealand’s borders are closed to almost all arrivals.

According to the FCO: “New Zealand citizens and residents returning to New Zealand may travel to New Zealand and do not need any formal exemption.

“There are a small number of additional, limited exceptions to the ban on travelling to and entering New Zealand.”


Peru has closed all borders to international visitors indefinitely.


  • Ryanair passengers are told to wait three months for refunds


According to the FCO: “Due to the ongoing coronavirus outbreak, the Philippine government has announced temporary entry restrictions.

“British nationals will no longer be able to receive a visa on arrival and will not be able to enter the Philippines until further notice. Foreign spouses and children travelling with a Filipino national and members of international organisations already accredited to the Philippines will be exempt from this restriction.”


UK citizens are currently not allowed to enter Slovakia, except for those with residency.

According to the FCO: “As of 13 March, entry to Slovakia is permitted only for Slovak citizens, foreign residents with proof of temporary or permanent residence and other foreign nationals under certain circumstances.

“You must pre-register with the Slovak authorities 72 hours in advance of travel and stay under mandatory quarantine for 14 days on arrival in Slovakia.”


Spain is slowly easing its strict lockdown restrictions, however, its tourism minister María Reyes Maroto has said that Britain’s coronavirus statistics “still have to improve” before tourists might be welcomed back.

The country is planning to “reopen for business” on July 1 according to Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez, when the country’s mandatory 14-day quarantine rule will be lifted.

However, some sources suggest international travel could start as early as June 21, when the country ends its state of emergency.

When Britons will be welcomed back remains largely uncertain.


The USA continues to impose a ban on international arrivals from a number of countries including the UK.

According to the FCO: “Since 16 March, it is not possible for many British nationals to enter the USA if they have been in the UK, Ireland, Schengen zone, Iran or China within the previous 14 days.”


Britons are currently banned from entering Vietnam under current border controls.

At present, all foreign nationals are banned except for a very small number of exceptions.

Source: Read Full Article