Holidays: Britons can only travel to three countries without restrictions or quarantine

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

Holidays have never been more complicated than they have amid the coronavirus pandemic. Travel restrictions are rife and nearly everywhere in the world has some form of entry restriction in place. For Britons, there are only three countries worldwide they can head to and face neither quarantine nor major restrictions.

These three countries are currently Greece, Sweden and Gibraltar.

Greece only joined the trio today after the island of Mykonos was finally added to the travel corridor list.

This what you need to know about the three destinations and the latest Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) travel advice.


“Mainland Greece and all Greek islands, are exempt from the FCDO’s advice against all non-essential international travel,” states the FCDO. “This is based on the current assessment of COVID-19 risks.

“If you are returning to the UK from mainland Greece or the Greek islands, you do not need to self-isolate on your return.”

A certain amount of pre-trip preparation and admin is required, though.

“If you travel to Greece, you will need to complete a Passenger Locator Form (PLF) at least 24 hours before travel. Failure to do so in advance may result in your carrier not allowing you to travel, a 500 Euro fine on arrival or the Greek authorities not allowing you to enter the country,” the FCDO explained.

“Every traveller, including children, must have their details included on a PLF. If you’re travelling with others outside of your household, you should all complete your own form. If you’re travelling together as a household, the Greek authorities ask for you to complete one form with all adults and children included. You can add additional members of your household at the top of the form before you submit.

“Some airlines may require individual PLFs for every traveller over the age of 18 within the same household. You should check directly with your airline what you will need to show in order to be allowed boarding.

“Anyone entering Greece may be asked to undergo a test for COVID-19, and required to quarantine in an accommodation provided by the Greek authorities until advised otherwise.”


Sweden is also exempt from FCDO advice against all non-essential international travel.

The country was added to the ‘safe’ list on September 12 and self-isolation upon return to the UK is not required.

Sweden has no coronavirus-related restrictions in place, however, travel between Sweden and the UK is limited.

The FCDO warned: “Travel options to and from Sweden are significantly reduced due to coronavirus related restrictions.

“There are limited direct flights available between Stockholm and London. Airlines have reduced other international flights to and from Stockholm and Gothenburg.”

Accommodation remains open in Sweden and domestic travel is not limited.


Gibraltar – a British Overseas Territory on Spain’s south coast – is likewise exempt from the FCDO advice against all non-essential international travel, despite mainland Spain remaining firmly on the quarantine list.

Some administration is required, however. “All travellers must complete an online contact tracing passenger locator form and inform the authorities if you have been in a ‘relevant area’ (does not include the UK) in the 14 days before your arrival in Gibraltar,” explained the FCDO.

“All arrivals from ‘relevant areas’ must self-isolate for five days, and be swabbed on day one and five of arrival into Gibraltar.

“If you are arriving on a flight at Gibraltar International Airport, you will need to fill in a passenger locator form online before you can pass through customs.”

Other partially-open countries

Cuba is also open to Britons without quarantine or restrictions, but only partially.


Tourists can only enter Cuba on international charter flights arriving directly into specific areas.

These are: Cayo Coco, Cayo Cruz or Cayo Guillermo (served by Jardines del Rey airport); Cayo Santa Maria (flying into Santa Clara airport); or Cayo Largo del Sur, and Varadero.

All other commercial and charter flights remain suspended.

Source: Read Full Article