Travel update: Which countries are on the amber and red lists? Full list of changes

Boris Johnson says opportunity to travel is "through double jab"

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

International travel has been a source of contention for Boris Johnson, with the need to get the industry back on track, while managing the spread of Covid. Now the Government has released its latest travel update, swapping countries between lists based on a series of Covid data. Brits are also waiting to hear what being double vaccinated would mean for holidays this year.

Vaccination rates, the ability to identify Covid variants, hospitalisations and case rates are all elements which the Government’s travel task force have examined to determine which countries can move up or down the lists.

The Green list allows Brits to freely travel to countries without having to quarantine on return, however, Covid testing is required.

Amber and red list countries have stricter rules in place, with travel to these areas discouraged.

Today’s announcement saw Tunisia and Dominican Republic move to the red list, while the Balearic Islands went green, giving more hope for wannabe travellers.

Read More: Stay away, UK! EU planning to BACK Merkel’s quarantine crackdown

So which countries have changed lists? Full list of changes below

The countries added to Northern Ireland’s red list from 4am on Wednesday, June 30 are as follows:

  • Dominican Republic
  • Eritrea
  • Haiti
  • Kuwait
  • Mongolia
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda will update this page with amber list changes as soon as they are announced.

To see the full list of current red and amber listed countries, you can visit the Government’s website here.

Amber list country rules

Before returning to England from an amber listed country travellers must

  • take a COVID-19 test
  • book and pay for day two and day eight COVID-19 travel tests – to be taken after arrival in England
  • complete a passenger locator form

On arrival in England travellers must:

  • quarantine at home or in the place you are staying for 10 days
  • take a COVID-19 test on or before day two and on or after day eight

Red list country rules

If you have been in a country or territory on the red list in the last 10 days you will only be allowed to enter the UK if you are a British or Irish National, or you have residence rights in the UK.

Before you travel to England you must:

  • take a COVID-19 test
  • book a quarantine hotel package, including two COVID-19 tests
  • complete a passenger locator form

On arrival in England you must:

  • quarantine in a managed hotel, including two COVID-19 tests

Source: Read Full Article