Travelers From These States Will Have to Quarantine for Two Weeks When Arriving in NY, NJ, CT

People wearing masks in front of the Manhattan skyline

In the wake of COVID-19, travelers visiting New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut from certain states around the country will be required to quarantine for two weeks upon arrival. Initially announced in June, the quarantine mandate was decided in agreement among New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo, New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy, and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont.

“What happens in New York, happens in New Jersey, happens in Connecticut. I think it’s right, I think it’s smart, and I’m glad we’re doing it together,” Cuomo told reporters at the time of the announcement.

States that have a “high infection rate” of COVID-19 or any state with an infection rate of more than 10 per 100,000 residents on a seven-day rolling average are included on the list. The rule applies to travelers that arrive via any mode of transportation.

U.S. territories including Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands are also included on the list.

The current list is as follows:

Travelers visiting from the states and territories listed above may be required to disclose where they will be quarantining or face various penalties depending on which state they're in. Those visiting New York may face a $2,000 fine, and anyone heading to Connecticut may face a $1,000 fine.

New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut are at various levels of reopening as they continue to grapple with the fallout of coronavirus. For specific information on where each state is at in their reopening plan, see below:

New York

New Jersey


Elsewhere in the U.S., Chicago, Massachusetts, and Maryland have implemented various travel advisories or quarantine mandates.

Source: Read Full Article